Random Short Story #1

Characters
Le stoooopid me.
My good friend (well, used to be)
And the few others wandering about.

Scene
(Sports complex of my campus)

I walk up to my good little friend who has been holed up in a corner of the sports complex and is staring blankly into space as though he had his memory wiped off clean.

Thoroughly concerned, I give his shoulders a little shake and ask him, “Wassup!”, and lean in for a chest thump. He stays put. Starts staring at me. “Errmm……”.

“Hellloooooo! Anybody there?”, I ask. “Can you ********** leave me alone?”, he asks with a bitterness, not even found in bitter-gourd (or even salt, for that matter).

I don’t back off. I don’t leave my friends moping around, if I can help it. So, I pester him again, “Come on! Play shuttle with us!”. Doesn’t work. Still staring. More anger, in there, though.

Thinking that maybe the loud treatment wasn’t working, I went closer, knelt near him and asked, “What happened to you? Why so silent? And gloomy? And sad? And droopy? And angry? And… well, what is up with you?”. He still continued staring. Not working.

He held his head again and started rocking. “Come on. Speak up. How else will we know what’s wrong?”, I continued pestering him. What followed could have been a scene from The Conjuring. He whipped his head up and started staring at me again, but this time with tussled hair, ruffled shirt and a wild, primitive look in his eyes. I was not to be cowed and I stared back.

…………………

………………….

……………………..

……………………………………….

He stood up. My jaws dropped. He sat back down.

I finally managed to find my voice again and said, “You could have told me earlier. I would have understood, because even my jeans tore yesterday.”

Leave a Reply

